National Commission for the
Certification of Crane Operators
Committed to Quality, Integrity, and Fairness in Testing since 1995


Industry Resources

State & City Licensing Requirements

Licensing (or “licensure”) is the most restrictive of the various forms of what is known as “credentialing” i.e. the process of granting or gaining a “credential.” It generally refers to the mandatory governmental requirement necessary to practice in a particular profession or occupation, and usually includes an examination, sometimes in addition to completion of appropriate training and/or experience.

“Certification,” on the other hand, is usually a voluntary process instituted by a non-governmental agency in which individuals are recognized for their knowledge and skill. Certification only becomes mandatory if it is adopted by a state or federal agency as the basis of a licensing program (such as the CCO crane operator certification program in West Virginia or New Jersey) or if an employer or project owner requires it as a basis for employment.

Currently, 16 states and 7 cities have licensing requirements for crane operators. Administrative procedures change periodically; please ensure you contact the appropriate authority to ensure you have the latest information. Click on the links below for state-specific requirements or visit our Certification Resources page for more information on how to become CCO-certified.

States that License:




Maryland *





New Jersey

New Mexico * 

New York

Pennsylvania * Certification Notification for Pennsylvania Form

Rhode Island


Washington *

West Virginia *


Cities that License:


Cincinnati *

New Orleans *

New York City

Omaha * 


Washington, DC

* Require or recognize CCO certification